Do I Qualify To Get A Medical Marijuana Card in Utah?
How can you get a medical marijuana card in Utah? What are the qualifying conditions? What’s the process of acquiring a medical marijuana card in Utah? We’ll answer these questions and more in this blog.
The Utah Medical Cannabis Act was passed to make it easier for people living in Utah to access medical cannabis without being victimized or criminalized.
This law has helped improve the quality of life for people living with numerous debilitating conditions. It also has provisions that make oversight and restriction easier for the State Government.
If you’re looking to get on the medical marijuana program, you’re probably wondering how to get a medical card in Utah.
Even though medical marijuana use is largely legal in the US, laws vary from state to state. Utah, specifically, has unique limitations/restrictions that you should know. But before we get to that…
Benefits of Having a Medical Cannabis Card in Utah
The recreational use of cannabis is illegal in Utah. If one is found in possession of 1 ounce to 1 pound of marijuana, they will be liable for a misdemeanor charge, while anything ranging from 1 lb- 100 lb constitutes a felony charge.
This implies that the only way one can access medical cannabis in Utah is if they have a medical marijuana card. And what’s more, you’re allowed to possess up to 113 grams of medical cannabis if you have a card.
That said, having a medical card has many advantages other than keeping you on the right side of the law. For one, it will get you access to tax-free products. That’s right! Medical marijuana patients don’t pay sales tax on medical cannabis products in Utah.
Another benefit of having a medical marijuana card in Utah is that it makes it possible for minors with debilitating physical ailments to access medical cannabis.
What Does It Take To Qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card in Utah?
If you’re wondering how to get a medical card in Utah, you’re likely curious about what the eligibility requirements are. Well, to qualify for a Utah medical marijuana card, you must:
- Be a Utah resident
- Have at least one qualifying condition
- Have an in-person meeting with a medical provider that’s registered and accredited by the Utah Department of Health
- Submit an application online
- Pay an application fee of $15
What Are the Types of Medical Cards Available in Utah?
There are various types of medical marijuana cards available in the Utah medical marijuana program:
- Patient cards: These are medical cards provided to a qualifying patient that’s 18 or older. The initial fee for getting this card is $15, and the renewal fee is $15.
- Caregiver cards: These are medical cannabis cards provided to adults older than 21 that care for patient cardholders that need assistance to purchase their medicine. The initial fee for a caregiver card is $68.25, while the renewal fee is $14.
- Non-Utah resident cards: Patients with a qualifying medical condition and that have a medical card from another state may apply for a non-Utah resident card when they’re visiting Utah. This helps ensure people have access to their medication even when they’re away from home. These cards are issued at a fee of $15.
Qualify Conditions for a Medical Cannabis Card in Utah
If you’re wondering how to get a medical card in Utah, you must have at least one of the following qualifying conditions:
- Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV)
- Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (AIDS)
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
- Persistent nausea that isn’t responsive to traditional treatment. (This excludes nausea caused by pregnancy, cannabinoid hyperemesis syndrome, and cannabis-induced cyclic vomiting syndrome)
- Crohn’s disease/ Ulcerative colitis
- Epilepsy/ Debilitating seizures
- Multiple sclerosis/ Debilitating muscle spasms
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) that’s being monitored and treated by a licensed health therapist. (This condition must have been diagnosed by a healthcare provider by the Veterans Administration and indicated in the patient’s file)
- Any terminal illness that leaves the patient with less than 6 months life expectancy
- An illness that requires the patient to be admitted to a hospice and receive specialized care
- Persistent pain lasting longer than two weeks that’s not adequately managed, in the qualified medical provider’s opinion, despite treatment attempts using conventional medications other than opioids or opiates or physical interventions.
- Acute pain that’s expected to last for 2 weeks or longer for an acute condition, including a surgical procedure for which a medical professional may generally prescribe opioids for a limited edition.
How Can I Get My Medical Marijuana Card in Utah
Getting a medical marijuana card in Utah is rather simple. You will need to meet up with a registered healthcare provider so they can prove you have a qualifying medical condition.
The qualified medical practitioner will then prepare a written certification; you’ll need to submit this online to the Utah Department of Health and Human Services (DHSS) to start your application for a medical marijuana card.
Steps To Follow:
- Schedule an in-person meeting with one of our qualified medical providers registered with the Utah Department of Health And Human Services (DHHS).
- Meet up with this healthcare provider and have them ascertain if you have a qualifying medical condition. Our total annual cost is $199. This covers the physician consultation and all required follow-ups.
- The physician will prepare a certification and submit it online to the State. This allows you to start applying for the card on the same day.
- Pay the required state application fee of $15. (This sum may vary depending on the type of medical card you’re applying for).
- The DHSS will process your application and issue a medical card via your email if you’re successful. (This is technically supposed to take no more than 15 days, but typically takes much shorter).
- Once you have your medical card, you can legally buy medical marijuana products from a licensed dispensary.
- Initial recommendations are issued for 6-month periods. Once you have been active in the cannabis treatment plan for at least one year, you are eligible for one year recommendations but so sooner than that.
What Documents Do I Need To Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Utah?
For one to qualify for a Utah cannabis card, you will need to have the following documentation:
- State ID/ state driver’s license
- When PTSD is the only qualifying medical condition they have: Proof that they have PTSD diagnosis
Being a Cannabis Caregiver in Utah
Patients who are aged or disabled may need someone to purchase and possess medical cannabis on their behalf. This person is called a caregiver. To get a caregiver cannabis card in Utah:
- An active and registered patient requests a caregiver.
- The patient will need to designate a caregiver and provide their details to the Electrical Verification System for medical cannabis (EVS)
- You will need to pay an initial application fee of $68.25
- The caregiver will need to submit background check forms
- One must be at least 21 years old
What Forms of Medical Cannabis Are Patients Allowed to Purchase in Utah?
Medical marijuana patients in Utah can use numerous forms of the herb:
- Wax or resin
- Concentrated oil
- Unprocessed cannabis flower
- Gelatinous cube
- Transdermal preparation
- Liquid suspension
- Devices such as vaping pens
Smoking cannabis is illegal in Utah. Medical marijuana users are also not allowed to consume candies, brownies, cookies, and other edible products.
How Can I Cancel My Medical Marijuana Card in Utah?
To cancel your medical marijuana card before its expiry:
- Log into your Evs.utah.gov account
- Go to the Tracking Inbox and click Patient
- Click your name to open your application
- Click the blue button ‘Cancel My Registration’ at the bottom of your application
What Medical Marijuana Laws Should I Know About in Utah?
1. Patients may possess up to 30 days worth of medicinal cannabis products.
2. Patients may possess no more than 113 grams of unprocessed cannabis flower.
3. Home cultivation is illegal in Utah.
4. Raw cannabis must be dispensed in tamper-proof packaging with a 60-day expiry window.
5. Patients can designate no more than 2 caregivers.
6. Costs associated with getting a medical marijuana card in Utah, or even purchasing medical marijuana, are not covered by insurance.
We Will Help You Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Utah
If you have a qualifying medical condition, you can easily get a medical marijuana card in Utah. Green Team Doctors is a coalition of local physicians with more than 300 years of combined experience practicing medicine.
We’re deeply connected to our community and strive to take part in many opportunities to volunteer and do charitable work.
That said, our biggest goal is to make medical cannabis available to everyone that needs it and to play our part in helping end the opioid crisis.
Our core values are integrity, care, passion, respect, privacy, and excellence; that’s what inspires us as we serve you.
Schedule an appointment with one of our medical marijuana doctors today to see if you qualify for a medical marijuana card In Utah.